Educators of the Year

This program recognizes outstanding teachers in South Wisconsin District preschools, elementary and high schools. Nominations may be made by administrators, teachers, parents, pastors, congregation members, and students (past and present).

Criteria: A person currently serving in one of the Lutheran preschools, elementary, or high schools in the South Wisconsin District who has given unselfishly of time and talents for the work of the Kingdom and is truly worthy of recommendation and nomination. The person may be a principal/administrator or teach any level from preschool through the high school.

Nominations will close October 8, 2018.            

Teachers and administrators that have been nominated, will be asked to complete an application.

To nominate an administrator/director or a preschool teacher in a freestanding preschool, complete the following nomination form.

Educator of the Year Nomination Form

    You are nominating an early childhood educator from a free-standing preschool. If this preschool is associated with an elementary school, you will need to nominate the educator through the Kohl Foundation.


Administrator – Jennifer Leinss, Blessed Savior Early Childhood Center, New Berlin
High School – Jonathan Balsman, Living Word Lutheran High School, Jackson
Elementary – Elizabeth MacGillis, St. John Lutheran School, Plymouth
Early Childhood – Deanne Boyce, St. Paul Lutheran School, Grafton

– Dawn Walker, First Immanuel, Cedarburg
High School
– Robert Cody, Living Word, Jackson
– Abby Johnson, St. John’s, West Bend
Early Childhood
– Dauna Werner, St. Paul, Grafton

Administrator – Michael Yurk, St. Paul, Grafton
Early Childhood Director – Catrina Kagerbauer, Trinity Early Childhood Center, Mequon
High School
 – Jason Jurss, Milwaukee Lutheran High School
Elementary – Joy Yurk, St. Paul, Grafton
Early Childhood – Katrina Schroeder, Mt. Calvary, Milwaukee

Administrator – Sharon Wallace, Immanuel, Brookfield
Early Childhood Director – Sandra Ruback, St. Andrew Early Childhood Campus, West Bend
High School
 – Richard Zeuner, Sheboygan Lutheran High School
Elementary – Katelyn Shields, First Immanuel, Cedarburg
Early Childhood – Candace Crass, St. John’s, Glendale


Administrator – Rosalie Meier, St. Paul, Grafton
High School – John Ellenberger, Milwaukee Lutheran High School
Elementary – Jennifer Comfort, St. John’s, Glendale
Early Childhood – Kathy Oldenburg, Divine Redeemer, Hartland / Michelle Pingel, Bethlehem, Sheboygan


Administrator – Lori Kilps, Good Shepherd, Two Rivers
Elementary – Becky Rohde, Divine Redeemer, Hartland
Early Childhood – Kimberly Hoffmann, St. John’s, Racine 


Administrator – Scott Boris, Christ the Life Preschool, Waukesha
High School – Rob Seder, Lake Country LHS, Hartland
Elementary – Casey Miller, First Immanuel, Cedarburg
Early Childhood – Cheryl Witek, St. John’s, Racine


Administrator – Jim Pingel, Sheboygan LHS
High School – Katie Baganz, Lake Country LHS
Elementary – Nicole Valdez, First Immanuel, Cedarburg
Early Childhood – Camala Bedroske, Trinity, Menasha


Administrator – James Breytung, Our Redeemer, Delavan
High School – Myrna Lastusky, Lutheran High School, Sheboygan
Elementary – Susan Kalchbrenner, Zion, Menomonee Falls
Early Childhood – Denise Kegley, Our Redeemer, Wauwatosa


Administrator – Duane Graf, St. Paul’s, West Allis
High School –
Kevin Hasseldahl, Racine Lutheran High School
Elementary –
Roxanne Gerlach, St. Paul’s, Oconomowoc
Early Childhood 
– Tammy Horton, St. Paul’s, Oconomowoc


High School: Mark Newman, Lake Country Lutheran High School
Early Childhood: 
Paula Pierce, St. John, North Prairie


High School:  Brad Alles, Milwaukee Lutheran
Elementary:  Jeanne Meyer, Grace, Oak Creek
Early Childhood:  Laurie Prewitt, New Hope, Neenah